Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Android TV box

  1. #1
    Admin Team-UkCvs Senior Member Satsearching's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Traveller/Itinerant (no fixed abode)
    Posts
    2,229
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 502 Times in 304 Posts

    Default Android TV box

    Anyone here using an Android tv box?

    Seriously thinking about buying one, can anyone suggest which to go for or keep away from?


    SS
    Any information provided on this site is not guaranteed in any way. Some articles may discuss topics that are illegal, so this information is provided for educational purposes only, use at your own risk !!

  2. #2
    Developer UkCvs Senior Member LraiZer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,198
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 1,558 Times in 892 Posts

    Default

    just flashed my T8 with lastest firmware which is now running Kodi 14.1. im happy with my box, but not used any other to compare it with. wifi is good, speed it good, but the droidsticks wizard is the real reason i got this box. THIS is the package i got.

  3. The Following User Says Thank You to LraiZer For This Useful Post:

    Satsearching (26-04-2015)

  4. #3
    Admin Team-UkCvs Senior Member Satsearching's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Traveller/Itinerant (no fixed abode)
    Posts
    2,229
    Thanks
    183
    Thanked 502 Times in 304 Posts

    Default

    Good reply.

    The droid stick boxes are very expensive, you can pick up the same on amazon for half the price. I guess droidstick is charging a premium for the wizard service.

    In your opinion, is the wizard service worth it?

    Have also read that the amlogic is the best way
    Last edited by Satsearching; 26-04-2015 at 08:28 PM.
    Any information provided on this site is not guaranteed in any way. Some articles may discuss topics that are illegal, so this information is provided for educational purposes only, use at your own risk !!

  5. #4
    Developer UkCvs Senior Member LraiZer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,198
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 1,558 Times in 892 Posts

    Default

    they also sell wizard install for 40, so yes in theory i payed 40% for the box and 40% for the wizard and 20% for the airmouse keyboard. if you just want to get a cheaper standalone box without the wizard or better airmouse/keyboard, you could still get the other options later if you wanted to upgrade. the wizard does bring the kodi part of to life though and keeps everything up to date, and im glad i got it. also i deffo needed the airmouse/keyboard, as it would be a nightmare trying to use eg. the web browser without one.

  6. #5
    Donated Member UkCvs Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    184
    Thanks
    55
    Thanked 90 Times in 67 Posts

    Default

    I got a wetek play really good you can get cable or sat one, it runs openelec and android . they also porting enigma2 for it as well thought droidsticks sell other peoples work which is available for free. Tvaddons is really good also phoenix and genesis but I hardly ever use them myself

  7. #6
    Developer UkCvs Senior Member LraiZer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,198
    Thanks
    382
    Thanked 1,558 Times in 892 Posts

    Default

    yes, all the 100+ plugins that the droidsitcks wizard installs are fee to install and maintain youself if you have the time to do so. But alas, i do not have the required countless hours spare time each month to keep sorting through 1000's of plugins to find the working/broken/good/bad plugins and then spend more countless hours setting up all the shortcut links. I didnt buy the free plugins that get install by the wizard, i see it as investing in someone times and a piece of software they have written that provides an automated update service, so that someone else can spent countless hours each month doing something i do not wish to do. PLUS, you get lifetime vip pass for hqzone hd streaming

  8. The Following User Says Thank You to LraiZer For This Useful Post:

    Satsearching (27-04-2015)

  9. #7
    Developer UkCvs Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    232
    Thanks
    22
    Thanked 9 Times in 6 Posts

    Default

    I have got these for my whole family.
    http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/2619012957...%3AMEBIDX%3AIT
    put on fusion and your away.
    http://www.tvaddons.ag/update-kodi/
    quad core is a waste of money, once the stream starts it either works or it doesn't. My son uses an old pi and he can watch everything I can.
    Since getting our android box we never use out old tmtwin.

  10. The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to scruff1963 For This Useful Post:

    abu baniaz (27-07-2015),Renwich (25-07-2015),Satsearching (27-07-2015)

  11. #8
    R.I.P Al, sorely missed Team-UkCvs Senior Member Renwich's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Traveller / Itinerant
    Posts
    3,750
    Thanks
    265
    Thanked 184 Times in 136 Posts

    Default

    I've got a number of Pi's (yea yea /me waits for pie jokes) Have got two of them setup with Kodi and total installer, its amazing wot content you can get

  12. #9
    Welsh Department Team-UkCvs Senior Member nj2006's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    DBOX Heaven
    Age
    45
    Posts
    3,930
    Thanks
    8
    Thanked 16 Times in 5 Posts

    Default

    amazon fire stick with kodi 15.1 here just playin and yes its reminding me of the old days
    BTW a big hello from he land of sheep
    DBOX HELPFILE HERE

    Any information provided on this site is not guaranteed in any way. Some articles may discuss topics that are illegal, so this information is provided for educational purposes only, use at your own risk !!

    Please do not email or PM me for Dbox support. I will be more than glad to answer your questions on the Dbox Section of our Forums



  13. #10
    A helpful but often grumpy Old Git Team-UkCvs Senior Member PaphosAL's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    a park bench, shop doorway or bus shelter near you
    Age
    75
    Posts
    6,020
    Thanks
    2,573
    Thanked 1,708 Times in 994 Posts

    Default

    Good to hear from you again, NJ!!!

    Now, if my daughter and grandaughter are both on Apple phones and tablets, and already grab tv through these devices c/o Apple, then what is the best device to buy in order to connect their 50" HD telly to their (proposed) new BT 76meg fibre broadband router next month(ish) please?

    In order that they can watch the same content on the big screen, as they can on their other gizmos, when they move back to UK from France soon?

    Thanks- AL
    "I read an article the other day that says I need to get out and walk more, stop drinking and quit smoking... So I've given up READING!"

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 5 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 5 guests)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •